The State of Victoria, one of the six states of the Commonwealth of Australia, covers 227,600 square kilometres (87,800 square miles) representing approximately 3% of the total area of Australia. Almost all of Victoria lies in the fertile south-eastern coastal region of Australia.

While Victoria accounts for only 3% of Australia’s land mass, it is responsible for approximately 22% of Australia’s economic activity.

Victoria is the manufacturing, services, innovation and knowledge powerhouse of Australia.

With 5.8 million inhabitants, it’s the nation’s most densely populated state. The capital city, Melbourne, is a cosmopolitan, globalised city of 4 million people.



Source: Invest Victoria