William (Bill) Whitford
Managing Director

First appointed 28 July 2003. Current appointment expires 27 July 2025.

Mr Whitford is responsible for the successful leadership and management of the Corporation according to the strategic direction set by the Board of Directors and the Treasurer of Victoria. He has more than 30 years’ experience in market risk and government and infrastructure financing. Mr Whitford has held financial markets roles at Banque National de Paris and the State Bank of South Australia, and government financing roles with the South Australian and Victorian Governments.

Cassandra Kelly

First appointed 11 August 2015. Current appointment expires 10 August 2024.

Ms Kelly has extensive experience in advising on finance, risk, strategy and policy. In 2003, she co-founded Pottinger, a corporate advisory company, where she remains as an advisor. Following on from her role advising the G20/B20 on matters of infrastructure, finance, health and digitalisation, Ms Kelly is a continuing member of the European Union's Global Tech Panel, chaired by the EU Vice Commissioner.

Helen Thornton
Deputy Chair

First appointed 1 July 2017. Current appointment expires 30 June 2023.

Ms Thornton is a Chartered Accountant with over 30 years’ experience spanning a wide range of industries including financial services.

Ms Thornton has extensive experience in governance, audit and risk management and has held senior leadership roles at Deloitte, KPMG, BHP Ltd and Bluescope Steel Ltd, where she was responsible for the global risk management function.

David Martine

First appointed 13 May 2014. Current appointment expires 12 May 2023.

Mr Martine is Secretary of the Victorian Department of Treasury & Finance. He leads the Department providing economic, policy and service delivery advice to the Victorian Government.

Mr Martine previously worked as a senior executive in the Commonwealth public sector providing strategic advice to governments on a range of complex economic and other policy issues. He has extensive budget, finance, policy and organisational leadership experience, and has contributed to wide ranging strategic policy reform. Mr Martine holds an honours degree in economics from Monash University, and completed his Master of Business Administration in 2005.

John Pearce

First appointed 14 April 2015. Current appointment expires 13 April 2024.

Mr Pearce has over 25 years’ experience in the financial services industry both in Australia and Asia. He is Chief Investment Officer of UniSuper, having joined in July 2009.

Mr Pearce has held several senior positions including Chief Executive Officer and General Manager, Investments of Australia's largest asset management company, Colonial First State, from 2000 to 2006. From 2006 to 2008 Mr Pearce was the Head of Global Asset Management for Ping An, which is China's second largest insurance company. 

Pamela Hauser

First appointed 21 February 2017. Current appointment expires 20 February 2023.

Ms Hauser is a non-executive Director and Chair of the Audit Committee.

Ms Hauser has a background as a regulatory lawyer, and has more than 30 years' experience in the financial services industry. She has held roles in legal, risk and compliance.

Debra Hazelton

First appointed 18 August 2018. Current appointment expires 17 August 2024.

Ms Hazelton has 30 years’ experience in global financial services, with a particular focus on Australia and Japan. She has expertise across fixed interest, treasury, institutional banking, risk management and global financial markets as well as organisational culture.

Ms Hazelton’s most recent executive role was leading corporate culture globalisation for Mizuho Financial Group, based in Tokyo. She has held national CEO positions in both Australia and Japan, namely Mizuho Bank and Commonwealth Bank of Australia respectively.